Friday Headlines

the weekly newsletter from EHS

Celebrating Excellence: Sports Personality Awards

Senior School | Sixth Form

10 May 2024

The Octagon was once again transformed for this year’s sports awards, affectionately known to us as ‘EHS Sports Personality of the Year’. The theme for 2024 was #SeeMeToBeMe; a celebration of participation and leadership alongside sporting success. We are so lucky at EHS to be surrounded by so many inspirational pupils and role models, each with their own unique ability to demonstrate diversity and inclusion through their own visibility and representation, empowering others to be the best they can be. 

Proceedings were based on the familiar format of the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year awards, featuring a series of video shorts to introduce the nominees for the main prize, Sportsperson of the Year 2024, interspersed with announcements of the award winners (listed below). A highlight of the evening were the inspirational video messages recorded for our pupils from famous athletes; Jo Trip (Severn Stars Netball), Eve Jones (Central Sparks Cricket), Denusia Francis Reed (Olympic Gymnast), Annabel Roddy and Beth Cobden (Loughborough Lightning Netball), Martina Mancini (Professional Dancer, ACE Dance) and Joe Fraser (Olympic Gymnast). 

This year’s recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award was alumna, Leyla Ogen. After leaving school at 16, Leyla joined a tennis academy to pursue a full-time career in professional tennis. She competed in junior Wimbledon at just 16 years old and joined the women's professional circuit, travelling around the world for three years on the WTA tour. In 1999 Leyla won a full scholarship to American University Brenau and was ranked world number 1 in collegiate tennis, eventually being inducted into their Hall of Fame. Leyla continues to play, most recently winning the over 35’s world championships for Great Britain, where, just like her days at EHS, led the team as captain. Leyla is now Head of Rackets at the prestigious Edgbaston Priory Club, giving back to the sport she loves. 

Star Ehiogu was awarded ‘EHS Sportsperson of the Year 2024’ for her outstanding achievement of being crowned British Junior Speed Climbing Champion. In her nominee video, Star shared with the audience her struggles with injury and setbacks but we also witnessed her determination to become an Olympic athlete for Nigeria (“preferably with a gold medal!” in Star’s own words!). 

The evening was closed with a special message from the one and only Judy Murray who spoke about the power of sport and opportunity, but also the importance of working hard and appreciating others around you. 

SPOTY 2024 was such a magical evening and we are so proud to be Team EHS. 

Congratulations to all of our main prize winners: 

EHS Sportsperson of the Year 2024 - Star Ehiogu (Speed Climbing) 
EHS Sportsperson of the Year 2024 runner up - Tiffany Latham (Swimming), Violet Walker (Archery) 
EHS Young Sportsperson of the Year 2024 - Abigal Hedges (Archery) 
EHS Young Sportsperson of the Year 2024 runner up - Isla Batchelor (netball), Luccia Baldwin (netball), Jemima Harlin (football), Isabella Rutter (gymnastics) and Aurelia Ehiogu (gymnastics)

Unsung Hero Award - Lucy Abbott for her commitment to Harborne Little League
Greatest Sporting Moment of 2024 - Preeth Rai, for her incredible hockey goal
Outstanding Leader of 2024 - Arriella Randall, Squash
Team of the Year 2024 - U14 Netball Team for their national success
EHS Lifetime Achievement Award - Leyla Ogan, Tennis
Penny Speer Award for Physical Education - Simran Bansal
Laura Kennea Commitment to School PE - Sanjana Raghavendran and Ishmah Mir
Stephanie Edwards Cup for outstanding contribution to school PE - Arriella Randall and Tea Ilic

The following awards were also awarded: 
Junior Netball Player of the Year - Isla Batchelor and Luccia Baldwin
Senior Netball Player of the Year - Tea Ilic
Junior Hockey Player of the Year - Esme Du Croz and Susanna Tomlinson
Senior Hockey Player of the Year - Preeth Rai
Junior Gymnast of the Year - Kiera Nagra
Gymnast of the Year - Aurelia Ehiogu
Contribution to School Gymnastics - Mollie Hewison
Lifesaving Rookie of the Year - Hafsah Fazal Jan
Improvement in Swimming - Jessica Brodie and Carrie Mackie
Junior Swimmer of the Year - Isla Batchelor
Senior Swimmer of the Year - Olivia Dougan
The Bevan Cup for Excellence in Swimming - Tiffany Latham
Most Improved Cricketer - Milly Cross
Contribution to Cricket - Ishmah Mir
Cricketer of the Year - Alessandra Belli
EHS Tennis Player of the Year - Milly Wood
EHS Athletics Cup - Isla Batchelor and Tiffany Latham
Most Improved Dancer - Isadora Frank and Nature Okah
EHS Dance Cup - Florence Giaquinto and Daisy Mae Thompson

Back to Friday Headlines

Previous Article

Next Article

Click image for full view